Despite a commitment to a mail-in primary voting system, the single in-person poling station in Washoe County was crowded at 6:45 on Tuesday evening, June 9, 2020. The poling station closed at 7:00 - photo: Brian Bahouth/The Ally

Because of recent changes to state law, as well as the fact the 2020 primary election is being conducted primarily by mail ballot, Nevada Secretary of State Barbara Cegavske has advised voters, candidates, and the media that primary election results will not be finalized until June 19, 2020.

By law, county election officials have seven calendar days to receive and count mail ballots that are postmarked on or before June 9.  Counties also have 10 calendar days after an election to certify election results.

The Ally will publish graphic results when new voting data is published on the following schedule.

  • Tuesday, June 9 – After the polls closed and the last voter in line cast a ballot, the counties began reporting election results to the Secretary of State. The first results have been published. These results consist of all the ballots the counties have counted to date.
  • All graphs below represent the latest data as it becomes available.
  • Thursday, June 11 to Wednesday, June 17 – At approximately 9:00 a.m. each day, the Nevada Secretary of State’s Office will release updated election results. These results will include the ballots the counties counted the previous day. The Ally will update the graphs listed below when new data is received.
  • June 19 – Official results for the 2020 primary election results will be posted. At this point all ballots will have been counted and the results will have been certified.

Primary Election Results

Updated Friday June 19 at 09:36 … these results are final.

Nevada Congressional District 2



State Assembly

State Assembly District 26


State Assembly District 30


State Assembly District 31


State Assembly District 36


State Assembly District 38


State Assembly District 40



Nevada Supreme Court

Supreme Court Justice Seat B (Nonpartisan)


Supreme Court Justice Seat D (Nonpartisan)


Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents

University Board of Regents, District 10 (Nonpartisan)

Reno City Council

Reno City Council Ward 1 (Nonpartisan) 4 year term


Reno City Council Ward 5 (Nonpartisan) 4 year term


Reno City Council At-Large (Nonpartisan) 4 year term


Sparks City Council


Sparks City Council Ward 1 (Nonpartisan) 4 year term


Sparks City Council Ward 3 (Nonpartisan) 4 year term


Palomino Valley General Improvement District (Nonpartisan)